Shopping Basket 0
Human Kinetics Publishers, Inc.



Learn the summative assessment of fairplay

This is an excerpt from Meeting Physical Education Standards Through Meaningful Assessment by Greg Bert and Lisa Summers.

Summative Assessment of Fair Play

With power standard 5, “I can play fairly,” we are assessing self-initiated behaviors that promote personal and group success in activity settings. These include safe practices, adherence to rules, self-officiating, etiquette, cooperation and teamwork, ethical behavior, positive social interaction, and participation. All of the learning targets help teach students the levels of the Pyramid of Active Participation. Our goal is to assess and record our students achieving each level of the pyramid. The entire purpose of this standard is to teach students about appropriate behavior in sport and games. Appropriate behavior makes sport and games fun for everyone during participation. When students can enjoy sport and games, they achieve more success in the activities and are more likely to participate in them because everyone is helping to make the game fun for each other.

Assessing behavior can be challenging. The word behavior can imply subjectivity, but we have attempted to keep the assessment of this standard objective. With emphasis placed on SOTG (spirit of the game) and the Pyramid of Active Participation, these assessments encourage students to show that they can play fairly. The Pyramid of Active Participation is based on four levels of self-initiated behaviors. The most bottom level is moving without a ball, such as V-pattern cutting, L-pattern cutting, and perhaps just concentrating on moving! When students perform these basic off-ball movements, the game is more enjoyable for both offensive and defensive players—everyone is participating with purpose or intent. The second level of the pyramid involves students moving with a ball, such as passing, dribbling, sharing, looking for receivers, and involving others by being productive teammates. The third level involves verbalizing language that is helpful, instructive, and welcoming to others. The fourth level is the leadership level, which challenges students to teach others and to use their advanced skills in order to help others or assist the teacher. The top level of the pyramid is SOTG—when students demonstrate mastery of the four lower levels, they possess SOTG!

Form 8.7 is a summative assessment with three options. The first option directs students to make a poster, visual aid, or collage that illustrates what it means to play fair and show respect for the game and others. Students also have the option to write an essay or discuss the characteristics of fair play and respect for the game.

Form 8.8 is a summative assessment in the form of an end-of-term essay. It requires that students compose and argue their point of view in writing as to how they meet power standard 5, “I can play fairly.” Students are self-reflective in essay form as they discuss how they displayed SOTG and how they were active participants.

Learn more about Meeting Physical Education Standards Through Meaningful Assessment.

Facebook Reddit LinkedIn Twitter

The above excerpt is from:

Meeting Physical Education Standards Through Meaningful Assessment With Web Resource

Meeting Physical Education Standards Through Meaningful Assessment With Web Resource

View other formats

More excerpts from this book

Meeting Physical Education Standards Through Meaningful Assessment With Web Resource

Related Excerpts

Get the latest news, special offers, and updates on authors and products. SIGN UP NOW!

Human Kinetics Rewards

About Our Products

Book Excerpts


News and Articles

About Us

Career Opportunities


Business to Business

Author Center

HK Today Newsletter


Exam/Desk Copies

Language rights translation

Associate Program

Rights and Permissions





Certifying Organizations

Continuing Education Policies

Connect with Us

YouTube Tumblr Pinterest

Terms & Conditions


Privacy Policy


Safe Harbor